Wednesday, 11 January 2012

How to bring out the worst in a 2-year old...

Just put her in an apartment with me and Andréa for a few days. It's terrible with Andréa being sick and Lovisa being her usual energetic little rascal. She needs to run, play, climb and swing. She's not allowed to do all that at home (yes she is allowed to play, no she's not allowed to climb on the walls), so when she got frustrated enough she torn down the drapes. OK, they're ugly but she didn't need to show it like this...


Andréa seems better thank god! Today we saw daylight in the park and it was a happy little Lovisa running around. Please, please can we be healthy for a while now?

Monday, 9 January 2012

Dreaming away...

Andréa has her 5th infection (or something like that, it's hard to keep track...) in a month so the past night we didn't sleep much. So instead of going to the playgroup we're inside trying our best to get better, poor Lovisa's turning into a little TV freak.

When things gets really boring, the kids are whining and the place is a mess I dream myself away. All the way to the 1st of September when I'm going to run (yes - run!) "Tjejmilen" in top shape (ha, ha!). The kids (healthy with rosy cheeks) and H (happy with a beer in his hand and the stroller in his other hand) will stand beside and cheer me on.
Yes, I have signed up so as soon as my annoying cold is gone it's just to start working out!

End of this dreaming session, now I have to stop Lovisa from feeding the baby with raisins...

Saturday, 7 January 2012

Weekend fun!

It's nice with a long weekend. Andréa is still very hard to feed but she's eating more and more, hence she poops more and more. Today we changed 6 poop diapers.
Besides changing diapers we discovered the area a bit and it turns out we're living ridiculously close to a indoor pool so tomorrow we're taking both kids to the pool! I'm so excited because they really enjoy taking a bath together.


My little water animals!

I try to be a bit healthier (try is an accurate word, yesterday H and me ate a big bag of chips and a bowl of popcorn while watching a movie... well, who's perfect?) and I actually did 2 core sessions this week. Only 20 minutes per session but with a 2-year old climbing on me and an 8 months old whining in her walking chair I think it's pretty darn good! I still need to get moving in the exercise department and I'm thinking about signing up to "tjejmilen" which is a 10 kilometers running race for women. I think I might be more motivated to get my ass moving if i have a goal to work for... Anyone wants to join me?

Thursday, 5 January 2012

8 months check up...

Thank god! Andréa's following her weight curve. I really like the Swedish child care system (BVC). It's free, the staff are professional and they tell you that EVERYTHING is NORMAL! Perfectly normal! Since she's still refusing to be fed she's eating on her own now. That doesn't work very well but at least she's happy and she gets something in her mouth sometimes...

Making a mess...

Tuesday, 3 January 2012

To many good suppers...

It's always the same story after the holidays. Feeling fat, inflated and a bit disgusting I wish that I could spread out all the good suppers and deserts over the year instead of piling them up over a few weeks. These are just a few examples of what I've been stuffing myself with:

 H:s birthday supper: pasta with feta cheese and spinach sauce...

 Chicken á la Mats on Christmas Eve (yes, we DIDN'T have the classic Swedish smörgåsbord and I didn't miss it one bit!)

New Years Eve was a food party all night thru! Or how about:

 Toast Skagen

 A wonderful mushroom risotto

Turkish coffee with chocolate mousse

I'm feeling stuffed to say the least. Muffin edges over the pants and I hate it! So, no more goodies during the week days for me. And hopefully I can take more walks now that the kids aren't sick (there, I said it, bet one of them is in for a fever tonight)... Secretly I'm dreaming of going out for a run or going to the gym but it seems hopeless to find the time for that right now. The kids are so demanding, with Andréa being sick a lot and I'm so tired in the evenings.

I wish I could give a bit of all the food I've eaten to Andréa because she's not eating anything. Or, that's not entirely true, she's eating her gruel from the bottle, fruitpuré, small pieces (ridiculously small) of white bread with butter and a few corn kernels and pees. That's it. She refuses to eat if I feed her. Shuts her mouth, turns her head away and if I continue to try she screams and cries. It's annoying and a bit nerve wracking. My common sense tells me that she's not starving and it's just a phase after her terrible stomach flu but my mother sense screams "she's going to starve to death! Feed her! Feed her! Feed her you worthless mother!" I even have nightmares about Andréas eating habits. Oh well, tomorrow Andréa is going for her 8 month check up at BVC (Swedish healtcare system for kids) and I hope I'm going to be more at ease after that. 

A little peace and quite please...

I hope 2012 is going to be a little less stressful than 2011. 2011 was a great year for me but it was also filled with stress, huge tasks and big decisions. And when I say big decisions I mean big decisions, life changing decisions. And I'm tired of those big things. I long for usual, common, every day life problems. Secretly I'm jealous at people telling me how stressful it is to buy a house and move or put your kid in to a new daycare. I want to scream to them "but you don't have to chose countries! You're going to live in that house for a long, long, time! What are you complaining about? You're kids are small, they'll adjust!" But instead I nod understandingly because I know everything is relative and for them that's a big thing.

I just wish I could have a little, little peace and quite now. Otherwise I might really go insane.

Sunday, 1 January 2012

What a year!

Remembering 2011:

In March I went to Sweden to take my PhD.  
One of the hardest things I ever did was to be apart from Lovisa 
for almost 1 month

I took my PhD, very pregnant and very happy when it was over without the water breaking...

Reunited in Sweden we waited and waited for Lovisas little sister... 
She was a bit late...

The 22nd of April she finally came! Andréa Kristina - a miracle!

We returned to Canada and bought our house and moved in end of July... 
It was a hot summer...

We baptized Andréa on our vacation in Sept-Iles in September...

...and celebrated Lovisas second birhtday!

In November we moved back to Sweden! 

Maybe it's not that strange that I feel a bit exhausted. 

Happy New Year!